Hellboy - Movie Review

22 285
504
 
Comments
Lewis Hamilton
Lewis Hamilton - 10 hours ago
I hated the script.
Joseph Archer
Joseph Archer - 13 hours ago
Nah, Keep da violence ;-j   I want to see it again intoxicated.  Wd b a trip!
Joe Northstar
Joe Northstar - 18 hours ago
Violence, gore and gross what else do you want.
John Doyle
John Doyle - 21 hour ago
The pig was so funny 😂
ryann45
ryann45 - 22 hours ago
I am a tremendous Hellboy fan. Love the comics, absolutely loved the Del Toro films. Was skeptical about this one, but the trailers made me a little hopeful. I am very sad to say this was one of the worst movies I have ever seen. I had to watch the Del Toro films right after watching it to cleanse me of the monstrosity that is this new film. When I was watching Ron Pearlman Hellboy, I honest to god, forgot for a good 2 hours that the David Harbour version existed.
james adams
james adams - Day ago
Dude🤦🏽‍♂️shut up. Seriously. Your just saying anything negative you can. This movie was so so got damn funny and subliminal and action packed. You are a piece of shit
Janno JJ
Janno JJ - Day ago
I ENJOYED THIS MOVIE. I don't fking understand why everyone is whining.
latonya ingram
latonya ingram - Day ago
It was very gross.I love violence and gore,but it gross
young Da
young Da - Day ago
I enjoyed the movie
Zachary Nixon
Zachary Nixon - Day ago
Have you read the Hellboy comics? They're pretty violent.
ryann45
ryann45 - 22 hours ago
Well. The comics are violent, and mature. The Del Toro films are not violent heavy, and they don’t have foul language. But those movies are far superior. Why? Because Del Toro and Ron Pearlman cared about the story and characters. And made those movies that did them all justice.
Scott Fieldsend
Scott Fieldsend - Day ago
DONT GET WHY PEOPLE HATE THIS MOVIE ITS R RATED YOU WANT LOTS OF BLOOD AND GUTS AND THIS HAS LOADS FROM START TO FINISH I WATCHED WITH A FRIEND AND BOTH LIKED IT I WOULD DEFINATE SEE A SEQUEL DONT WANT BACK STORY ON ALL CHARACTERS JUST ONES THAT MATTER MOST GET TO LOCATION KILL FUNNY HUMOR AND MOVE ON A WILL BE BUYING IT WHEN ITS RELEASED IN STORES AS WELL
Lex Loadgiver
Lex Loadgiver - 2 days ago
In other words it’s hot trash and I’m going to see some hot trash tonight.
Uveni
Uveni - 2 days ago
God of war but done wrong. Pure unnecessary, nasty gore and just plain nasty. Not Mortal Kombat and not God of war good and a whole bunch of running around for no reason to defeat a villain that could have been blown up but no less do boring "let's make sects and kill mens" shenanigans.
Gabriel Snowboy
Gabriel Snowboy - 2 days ago
That wrestling scene at the beginning is just one of the many scenes that didn't need to be there. It was that kind of movie.
The 9th Planet
The 9th Planet - 2 days ago
It was pretty good, not great but not bad either. For me the editing was the worst part. But I still recomend it, an ok film.
Shawn Shawn Binks is the sith27
The thing i like in this novie is that even though he is treated like shit he still chose to be a good guy regaurdless and he feels more..idk like someone who wasnt raised as good and it works
Kyle Campbell
Kyle Campbell - 2 days ago
GIVE. ME. GOD. DAMN. WAFFLES!!!!
Tobs W
Tobs W - 2 days ago
Millie jovovich is a guaranteed stamp of shit on any movie. Seriously. They need to make it illegal for her to act in movies. Her acting skills are so shit and she has done so much damage to cinema that she shouldn't even be allowed to act in a B grade porno.
oldschool zombie
oldschool zombie - 2 days ago
It just felt like it was missing something , like with Guillermo version you fell into this world of style and monsters and this felt empty .
Blaze The Movie Fan
Blaze The Movie Fan - 2 days ago
I’m sorry you didn’t like it. I hope I’ll like it more than you did.
MrJakeJimmy
MrJakeJimmy - 2 days ago
Terrible movie! I give it a 1/10
Hugh Jhass
Hugh Jhass - 2 days ago
Hellboy was great. I loved the first two as well but this was great too.
Hugh Jhass
Hugh Jhass - 2 days ago
Hellboy again? What about Spiderman again... And again
Vic S
Vic S - 3 days ago
Early sign of bad story telling: Hellboy goes to Mexico to find a BPRD agent who was investigating vampires. Said agent gets turned into a vampire luchador. Hellboy kills him and the audience is supposed to feel emotional since Hellboy is distraught over this. Next scene, Hellboy is picked up to go on his next mission after spending weeks getting drunk.
The vampire plot gets dropped. No scene of Hellboy going on a path for vengeance. Nothing... moving on
Ryan Brown
Ryan Brown - 3 days ago
Maybe the irony of a film about a demon superhero coming out a week before Easter has something to do with the film's poor release
shadow wolf 77
shadow wolf 77 - 3 days ago
I saw the movie yesterday and thought that it was garbage, but a piece of garbage that I would see again if it was on Netflix or something. there were only something good about the movie but very few and the CGI was absolutely terrible, I don't know the work that goes into CGI but clearly not a lot of work went into that.
Chris Briceno
Chris Briceno - 3 days ago
Is it me or does this dude move to much, STAY PUT
alfie mikhail
alfie mikhail - 3 days ago
The physical manifestations of the spirits in the movie are known as "ectoplasm", a well-known type of manifestations among medium/spiritualists circle
Jfund12
Jfund12 - 3 days ago
At the end, it was just another in the office feeling they left one. Which does seem appropriate in concept. It just wasn't fulfilling.
gotans con
gotans con - 3 days ago
Fan 4 stick that's to funny good show your power level is over 9000 bye
steel ssstu
steel ssstu - 3 days ago
Fantastic film, much better than most wanker reviewers are saying, go see it and don't listen to these twats who hijack YouTube with this movie review shit it's a good movie
ThomasdWell
ThomasdWell - 3 days ago
I hated it. Mostly cause everyone felt meaner, the swearing was over done along with the gore. But the real kicker for me was just how they took actual stories from the comic and stitched them into short little segments. Worst one being the 'backstory' of Hellboy and Alice which was boiled down to he told a fairy to return the baby and he sits down on a couch for some time before the baby is returned.
As a fan of the comic series, it was just a waste of time if they cut the beginning narration (which omg, who and they're grandmother doesn't know King Arthur's sword) to King Arthur cut the bad lady in to parts, they could have given more weight to the pig man having a real grudge other than, "hellboy touched me with iron for half a second and that really hurt my feelings."
I feel bad for David Harbour cause he had so much going against him because he wasn't Ron Perlman and more often than not he was fairly convincing, but man was the dialog shit. I sat in the theater and actively thought to myself, "someone wrote this and no one said to take a second pass." Not to mention the Blood Queen was assembled pretty quick and really wasn't a threat. Baba Yaga was a greater threat for the small screen time she had.
I will say that the monsters were good and that Baba Yaga will haunt my nightmares with her weird swaying tits. Mind you the comic version of Baba was much more like an old unsuspecting woman you'd pass by. Still flipping bold of them to add a teaser for Abe AND Koshchei the Deathless
Rob Scofidio
Rob Scofidio - 4 days ago
Just saw it on a Friday night showing; all 10 of us in the theater. Agree completely; won’t be seeing this again, at least not on purpose!
G Richard Yamagata
G Richard Yamagata - 4 days ago
Great Review! I was looking forward to this movie. Your trailer review sold me on seeing this. I share your views. When are they going to hire you to fix the movies before they are released to the public. Then again there is nothing they could have really done. Thank you for the review.
Geeky Fanatic
Geeky Fanatic - 4 days ago
The moment they announced Ron Perlman wasn't going to play hellboy in this movie, I knew it was going to be bad. Turns out, I was right, but Hellboy was a good part of it. Strange.
yoseph Denny
yoseph Denny - 4 days ago
I enjoyed it, but I agree with a lot of your points
Dumont
Dumont - 4 days ago
I loved the 2 old pnes
Iserior
Iserior - 4 days ago
Liked the first Hellboy, don´t care for Golden Army.
I had a lot of fun with this one. Story and Characters are alright, nothing special but they have a certain B-Movie charme. the action is solid if you can tolerate some CGI hick-ups. The comedy is nothing really special, pretty much "to cool for school" attitude from some characters somtimes but it wont break the atmosphere of the scenes. Regarding the music, i cant complain, mostly Metal, some of it clearly inspired by DOOM.
The biggest point of critique for me is the sometimes frantic cut and rushed story. The movie is very fast paced with very few calm moments and all events just stack up so fast you dont have much time to process it.
Like i said, i had my fun and think that i got my moneys worth of entertainment. Also i would like to see a sequel.
Proxy Payload
Proxy Payload - 4 days ago
Why is every sentence by this guy an attempted punchline? :s
Andrew Pearson
Andrew Pearson - 4 days ago
But I honestly never thought the CGI was bad except when they showed hellboy being summoned or whatever as a baby
Andrew Pearson
Andrew Pearson - 4 days ago
I went to see it twice and get why people disliked it but I still thought it was a really good action movie
Evan Font
Evan Font - 4 days ago
Generally speaking, the original Hellboy doesn't hold up all that great. Mostly because of the human character guy who works with Hellboy is a complete tool and his whole subplot of trying to steal Selma Blair from Hellboy doesn't really work. But shit, and least it's still kinda fun and funny.
Reece Lively
Reece Lively - 4 days ago
The giant fight was the best thing about the movie.
Wile.E Mario
Wile.E Mario - 4 days ago
I liked the movie.
Westwood Da cat
Westwood Da cat - 4 days ago
I thought it was a amazing
schubbel
schubbel - 4 days ago
I think is succeded in the rare so bad it became good. I enjoyed it but recognize it as a terrible movie.
Skyler Anderson
Skyler Anderson - 4 days ago
Oh man comparing this to fan4stic is savage
onika inyam
onika inyam - 4 days ago
I'm a big fan of Guillermo Del Torro's Hellboy, but I would have to say that WE ACTUALLY ENJOYED THIS MOVIE! The scene with the Baba Yaga will haunt me forever!
Undead dissection
Undead dissection - 4 days ago
My god why did they not just make hell boy 3 for fucksack
Thu Linh Nguyen
Thu Linh Nguyen - 4 days ago
Cant get over David's dad bod 🙄
Neo Art School
Neo Art School - 5 days ago
this whole time I was like he sounds like a Washington guy... you just move to seattle making that money or...
Robert Brewster
Robert Brewster - 5 days ago
More than anything it felt like a tv show season condensed into a 2 hour film.
Robert Botello
Robert Botello - 5 days ago
I seriously just walked out... I was in the scene where hellboy and the dad come back to mansion and everyone is dead. Gosh I was falling asleep. Horrible music choices, pace was way to fast. Dialogue was pointless. Gore was meaningless
Bob Bob
Bob Bob - 5 days ago
I don't care if it is the worst written movie or the plot sucks. If it entertains me then I like it and will watch it again
And this movie entertained me
josh lamb
josh lamb - 5 days ago
I liked it. I thought it was better than captain Marvel.
Hugh Jhass
Hugh Jhass - 2 days ago
Captain marvel sucks
Marlon Davis
Marlon Davis - 5 days ago
Guillermo can still put out the 3rd Hellboy if he wants, I'll definitely buy a ticket for that.
johnulcer
johnulcer - 5 days ago
STOP. SCREAMING. AT. US.
Pat Green
Pat Green - 5 days ago
I was going to click like but then you punched me in the FACE!
Automaton 42
Automaton 42 - 5 days ago
Best part was the last 20 mins seeing demons come out of the ground. Seeing hellboy on a dragon was badass and should of been longer scene. So many unanswered questions and plot holes .
Automaton 42
Automaton 42 - 2 days ago
+Matt Gates As in what happened to Hellboy's mother and father. They showed brief flash backs of them but there was no understanding of where they went as far as I watched and listened. Next plot hole is the time between Hellboy as a child and then a adult , like there is no real back story on Hellboy to make us relate to him . It's just here is him coming out of the hole , we took him and raised him but you won't see it because it might make the movie longer or uninteresting. Seriously if you're going to reboot a movie then show everyone the shit the character went through to get to this point that he/she should feel the need to help Humans. Not leave it towards the end to just make a choice based off his fathers words . Another Plot hole is that if the Bureau of Paranormal Research and Defense felt the blood queen would bring about the end then why just leave her parts with such little defense thinking that evil can't find it's way into a monastery. I felt more for Gruagach than Hellboy in the end. Again the end was more exciting than the rest of the movie but I don't think using Del Toro or Ron Pearlman would of made it better unless it was totally darker and more rated R than they went for . Once it's released on Blu-ray I'll be able to slowly account for all plot holes. These are the only ones that made me think more about the story than prolly intended.
Matt Gates
Matt Gates - 2 days ago
Automaton 42 What plot holes? Just curious if you have legit ones or if your just on the bandwagon
DINSTAR-AS
DINSTAR-AS - 5 days ago
Saw this movie on a slow Tuesday... spent a lot of time thinking about my poor choices in life during the movie. On another note, the sound volume was so loud, it was impossible to fall asleep.
MrJakeJimmy
MrJakeJimmy - 2 days ago
The song selection was so loud during talking scenes, I could barely understand what they were saying. (terrible British accents) shit tier movie.
Ravendarke 777
Ravendarke 777 - 5 days ago
That's a shame for David Harbor, when will these studios learn?
boiboiboi
boiboiboi - 5 days ago
[ALERT] underage people who didn't watch the movie and denied good review is on comment section
The ghost 89
The ghost 89 - 5 days ago
The cgi wasn't bad at all lol
Jomas Mendoza
Jomas Mendoza - 5 days ago
Review Love, Death + Robots pls, love your reviews btw
Jack Lang
Jack Lang - 5 days ago
I loved it great fucking movie in my opinion they did there own thing they didn't just copy del Toro and it had more of a comic book
Vibe the CGI no not the best but odly felt right for the movie
Justin Torrez
Justin Torrez - 5 days ago
For everyone go watch the movie I really liked it and it was a ton of fun just saying dont let this review stop ya from watching it.
darkly
darkly - 5 days ago
You gave this a low score because of your anti british sentiment.
Waytotheland
Waytotheland - 5 days ago
I LOVED the original 2, I was so disappointed when the third one was canned😔. I had hopes for this one but now I’m disappointed yet again😢
ghostwolf84
ghostwolf84 - 5 days ago
answer to the Alice question. No, no she couldn't do any of that.
Jeff Busby
Jeff Busby - 6 days ago
So sad to hear this movie sucked I had such high hopes
Oh well at least avengers comes out soon… Let's just hope Captain Marvel doesn't fucking ruin it
Andy Bell
Andy Bell - 6 days ago
SPOILERS: I would've liked this movie better than the first two combined if everything wasn't all over the placed. The scene locationings is pretty much like my dextop on my PC, completely unorganized filled with random files. What was the point of that other witch with the missing eye by the way that hellboy kissed by the way? Hellboy didn't even get her an eye it served no purpose. The only purpose that one eyed witch served was at the start with the Pig. See? I already forgot about that one eyed witch and I just came back from the cinemas watching it. All I could remember from her was that grotesque kiss that was just there for comedy scenes after and her and that pig.
jay folk
jay folk - 6 days ago
more joy than cpt marvel but slogged down by too many characters, with no decent intro, setup, or payoff.
SonOfPsalms
SonOfPsalms - 6 days ago
"I was more attached to the pig. Gimme the pig!"
J.R. M
J.R. M - 6 days ago
The stuff coming out of the woman's mouth is called ectoplasma. I only know this because of that horrible movie The Haunting in Connecticut
toneoneonly
toneoneonly - 6 days ago
This guy sucks. Nothing to do with the movie, he just sucks.
Peter
Peter - 6 days ago
Fan four stick 😂😂😂😂
Who needs profile Pictures Really?
I feel like this movie, and this story, should have been 2 different movies. Maybe 3. A TV show could do it justice too! But they just made it shitty.
Takoshi Hitsamaru
Takoshi Hitsamaru - 6 days ago
Yep, this guy nailed exactly how I felt about this movie.
I wasn't a huge fan of the Del Toro ones, but after seeing this, I long for a chance to watch those again.
There is a scene where Hellboy and company go to some island and traverse a cliffside to get to this cave on the far side of the island. Then after they are like "oh shit, we gotta get back to London ASAP" and then cut, they're in London and not hours upon hours late like real-time would dictate)
Game boy
Game boy - 6 days ago
For me, very many sensors, the last scene I thought would be exciting fighting with his demonic form, it turned out that it was just a boring ending
Drawing Conclusions
Drawing Conclusions - 6 days ago
Gotta agree with this review overall. Also Hellboy looked so fake. So much worse than the Ron Perlman Hellboy. We didn't give it a good review either.
Ian Berghammer
Ian Berghammer - 6 days ago
I actually really liked it, it was like hellboy done by a young Sam Raimi who was also really into metalocalypse.
Probonoman
Probonoman - 6 days ago
i liked the OG, and after watching the 2019 remake i will be buying the blue-ray 4k. liked them both, no issues and hope they keep making more.
Tajuana Hardaway
Tajuana Hardaway - 6 days ago
It was okay for what they were able to do I saw the originals so I'm a little bias but there were some good parts in the movie problem is that there were a few too many parts that made you wonder was this really what they wanted to do half the time I was like wow that's kind of cool and then the other half was like wow why did they do this just saying it was okay but it wasn't where it should have been for reboot of such a good movie
Tvennet
Tvennet - 6 days ago
Yeah well, no wonder it’s a fail. Milla Jovovitch is in it 🤷🏻‍♂️
Tender Defender Farms
Tender Defender Farms - 6 days ago
Not allowed to see the new one but the originals were awesome
Jey Tee
Jey Tee - 6 days ago
1:47 - 1:55
Cartoons and animations *are the exact. same. thing.*
They literally have interchangeable definitions. Differing art styles doesn’t isolate them into their own 100% different category; if it’s drawn (hand, computer, or otherwise) and uses a sequence of frames to “bring it to life”, it’s a cartoon AND an anime, cuz it’s animation either way.
sangreiti
sangreiti - 6 days ago
I shit you not. I totally thought that was liv Tyler!!!
Lee Joyner
Lee Joyner - 6 days ago
When critics become cry babies
Johnny Cotton
Johnny Cotton - 6 days ago
It's not avengers infinity war good but its not RIPD awful I had a good time with it and will probably buy it on blueray
Ivan Hairnandez
Ivan Hairnandez - 6 days ago
*LMAO IN GUILLERMO DEL TORO*
Nicholas Fraedrich
Nicholas Fraedrich - 6 days ago
The violence would have been way more impactful without the music. Plus it seemed Hellboy was invincible so there’s that.
Mr Power
Mr Power - 6 days ago
AH GREASE LIGHTENING!!
Lord Zuko
Lord Zuko - 6 days ago
They should have let Ron and Del Toro finish their trilogy.
The Golden army was great and they should have let them finish it.
Dianna Rockymore
Dianna Rockymore - 6 days ago
Omg I loved the first two Hellboy, was awesome and was looking forward to this but idk now if I will go pay 12+ to see it might wait until it comes to a redbox
Wade Wilson
Wade Wilson - 6 days ago
You cunts are so picky this was prity entertaining in parts. The monsters were awesome
Ron Petersen
Ron Petersen - 6 days ago
I just came out of watching it a few hours ago. I liked it, it was a fun film. It does go darker and bloodier than the original. I had no problem following it. I would totally be down for a sequel. I think it needs a fair shake. Though. This was a bad time to release it because everyone is saving their money to watch End Game 52 times.
Andres Landaeta
Andres Landaeta - 6 days ago
The new hellboy was a horrible remake, I wish I could get my two hours back.
Riculf Riculfson
Riculf Riculfson - 6 days ago
I enjoyed it. Felt like an RPG with episodic story telling.
Human Google
Human Google - 6 days ago
holy shit timmy turner makes movie reviews???!
Xavier Perez
Xavier Perez - 6 days ago
At least the CGI was better than that aquaboy movie
Next videos