New iPad Pro review: can it replace your laptop?

40 417
2 527
 
Comments
Derek Xue
Derek Xue - Day ago
reallay nice juicy bear
Dexter Daniel
Dexter Daniel - 2 days ago
Great review. Influenced my decision NOT to get the iPad Pro. Thanks
Jon Bee
Jon Bee - 4 days ago
I don't think Apple will ever make their iPads as 'true' laptop replacements any time soon. Could be in the future, but if they do that, then they might as well discard their entire MacBook lineup which they probably won't do since they're making money on both their laptop division and tablet division separately. They're getting fairly close but who knows if that will ever happen.
Savannah nike
Savannah nike - 5 days ago
Am getting a iPad pro on my birthday April 30 and my sister is getting a ipod it's like a small phone on her birthday may 26
Dom
Dom - 7 days ago
It’d be cool if the iPad Pro was just an experiment to see if the tablet’s CPU can beat current MBPs. Hence we’d see MBP mounting the same specs or faster in Late 2019 or 2020—given the fact that macOS needs to be adapted to run on a different CPU. Hell, they could also go with macOS on iPad Pro
CASMANWHAT
CASMANWHAT - 7 days ago
I have it and it definitely makes my heart flutter. Love it.
Lizzie D
Lizzie D - 7 days ago
I love to draw, and i was always dragging around hundreds of pencils, erasers, inks, watercolors, etc for years. I received this with the keyboard and pencil for Christmas, and I now can just sit down on the couch, bed, table, anywhere, and draw
Mario Georgiou
Mario Georgiou - 9 days ago
Excellent Review, you echo my sentiments and it's one of the main reasons I am angry with Apple. They lack a real OS on iPad for computer users ... it is still just a second class media device with some great capabilities. They have deliberately hamstrung this tech because they knw it will replace their computers in a minute if they were more robust OS wise.
khayias hamilton
khayias hamilton - 9 days ago
Ya “the verge” I really don’t enjoy the same reporter reporting all of apples main flagships, change it up give us some other opinions from a range of reporters not just the same reporter covering the same topic every year...
Ariana Zuniga
Ariana Zuniga - 12 days ago
I not understanding your language please talk Spanish
Jim Beam
Jim Beam - 12 days ago
What about an OLED display? Think the fall models will have it?
Diego Vides
Diego Vides - 12 days ago
I love your reviews! You always knock it out of the park! The verge production team is simply unparalleled
Xanh
Xanh - 12 days ago
Does mouse work with this?
Yellow Slipper
Yellow Slipper - 13 days ago
It seems like this review is about iOS 12, not iPad Pro 3rd gen.
Amber L
Amber L - 16 days ago
So I’m deciding between the iPad Pro and the cheapest Mac. I’m a blogger and don’t need anything too fancy, but I need to be able to save and edit photos and work on my website. Suggestions? Max I want to spend is $1200. I’m open to Windows based option but I’m a fan of my iPhone and how it operates. Portability is great but not a deciding factor so that’s why I’m considering a desktop.
Ying Dong
Ying Dong - 17 days ago
Imagine a nuclear reactor powers a fishing boat; this is that.
Nazhif Jamil
Nazhif Jamil - 18 days ago
I wish Apple releases MacOS update for the iPad Pro
Paul Loader
Paul Loader - 18 days ago
Great review
RetroGhost
RetroGhost - 21 day ago
its a tablet why do people think it will replace a laptop or desk top computer.sorry the power might be there but it just wont replace them
Jacob Keys
Jacob Keys - 21 day ago
If you want to do operations which you simply cant do on iOs, just use MacOS ... They will never make changes like you mentioned just because they dont want to and then the Macbook would be a nonscense to buy.. Just learn more about Apple before any other review
Malo RK
Malo RK - 21 day ago
Great review, man! I'm watching this on a Samsung tablet that I love.
Silver Soul
Silver Soul - 22 days ago
First time to see dami lee in person like in person video person
Silent 1969
Silent 1969 - 23 days ago
I really want it instead of getting a laptop but they made it just such a hard choice with the software
Davidxx1400
Davidxx1400 - 20 days ago
Same!!
mrcasavechia
mrcasavechia - 23 days ago
This is a really good review. As a professional photographer I want to have the iPad do more so I can use it for travel assignments that are one to two days. It would be great to tether to it without needing a laptop. Plus editing one photo that client needs while you're on the road, it can't been done on an iPad like you can do it on a laptop. You're 100% right, you have to adjust to the computer, the iPad is fun and I have an older iPad Pro but I really only use it for email and looking over documents.
OMGz1122
OMGz1122 - 24 days ago
Apple is like the company who loves to sell you accessories
Nikko
Nikko - 24 days ago
If they put MacOS on an ipad, then it’s game over
Rrwery
Rrwery - 8 days ago
+Likecomment Coolness bootcamp is for macs, not iPads.
Likecomment Coolness
Likecomment Coolness - 8 days ago
Then use boot camp and download windows😏
Rrwery
Rrwery - 23 days ago
They won't though. I think they will put their processors in the Macbooks, so all apps can run on all devices.
Todd Dominey
Todd Dominey - 24 days ago
The point about websites kicking you out to iOS apps is enough of a reason to keep me switching to an iPad from a Macbook. Makes sense why it happens, but that would drive me crazy.
James Burns
James Burns - 26 days ago
if u want to overpay and not have access to any apps besides the most popular ones sure
Yuvraj Chauhan
Yuvraj Chauhan - 26 days ago
Apple why do you restrict us.
Diego Regalado
Diego Regalado - 24 days ago
Yuvraj Chauhan They want to conform us to their ecosystem. All apple or nothing.
Nemesio Artaiz
Nemesio Artaiz - 26 days ago
I have the same sentiment. Yes Its a fast and expensive device, but it can't even handle usb c flash drive files. Im sticking to my old ipad 12.9
GM 3
GM 3 - 22 days ago
Nemesio Artaiz the old ones Support at sternal storage
Mike Jones
Mike Jones - 27 days ago
why does apple still use intel chips in the macbooks ?
Holger Laufenberg
Holger Laufenberg - 27 days ago
He primary reason why is no real computer is the lack of a real file system and the shortcomings of mobile software. Even Apple’s own FileMaker Pro mobile version can’t perform primary functions like importing data on the iPad.
zen 2017
zen 2017 - 28 days ago
If you buy that, then you have to stick with mobile apps and their limitations..(most of the great apps are not free as well)
u better buy a laptop with that price.. and you can even play AAA Games and Office and Photoshop and Web Browsing and Hacking and Torrenting and Entertainment (TV, Movies and Music..) it probably wont have touch scren but what tha heck.. using wireless keyboard and mouse is way better and more precise for anything
Alpha Delta
Alpha Delta - 29 days ago
No mouse support, no files system for God's sake, has USB-C but doesn't recognize SSD/ Flash drives/ External Hard disk, no desktop app support. This is a joke. Surface Go/ Pro are the real laptop replacements.
Steve Buddy
Steve Buddy - 29 days ago
$2200?!?! I'll just either wait for Apple to come out with something actually worth $2200 or I'll just buy a Surface Pro and a Samsung Tablet! Thank You Apple!!!
Dinho Lima
Dinho Lima - 29 days ago
Ya. I think the same... this is sooooooo stupid. Even an Apple fan as I am can think about why those idiots keep stealing our money, making useless iPads, just to sell more macbooks.
Akhil krishna Chowdary
Akhil krishna Chowdary - 29 days ago
Truly Honest review.. thumbs up
Marty Ericson
Marty Ericson - Month ago
Best. Review. Ever.
silverwess
silverwess - Month ago
I have the previous version and this one. my review is I like it more than the last one. My review is done.
Hector Coronel
Hector Coronel - Month ago
just buy a freaking laptop
randomaccount
randomaccount - Month ago
What's the deal with Apple and External Storage???
FireWall
FireWall - 29 days ago
Probably to get people to spend money on iCloud and internal storage.
EKSPLOUZEN
EKSPLOUZEN - Month ago
From who did Apple get the inspiration from
*HMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM*
Jabulani Harvey
Jabulani Harvey - Month ago
true innovation vanguard right here....give it time and you will see the computing revolution that Apple has started......
Michael Reif
Michael Reif - Month ago
Pencil is great. Seriously missing file management as with OSX.
Desmond Gomes
Desmond Gomes - Month ago
is it bad that i want one to mainly read comics?
David Luna
David Luna - Month ago
Snapchat on the iPad might be nice
MrDomestosWC
MrDomestosWC - Month ago
This review is an eye opener. I was thinking about replacing my mbp late 2013 with the new iPad pro. This is the only review that told me the reality, which is don't. Thank you.
Oxi Clean
Oxi Clean - Month ago
I think I'll wait for iPad pro to come out with a oled screen. Not worth paying all that for a LCD screen.
AwesomeBreakfast
AwesomeBreakfast - Month ago
It's still an amazing screen with 120Hz ProMotion, has amazing colours and gets really bright at 600 nits of brightness
David Vishnu Kumar
David Vishnu Kumar - Month ago
Excellent thorough review.
Nilabh Umredkar
Nilabh Umredkar - Month ago
Best review I have seen so far!
Knight 11692
Knight 11692 - Month ago
A lot of this is BS everything that I connected to my iPad pro through the USB type C worked just fine. The only thing that he's saying that's half way true is you need iTunes to upload files to the iPad pro other than that the rest of this video is a waste of time.
Syed Jawad Shah
Syed Jawad Shah - Month ago
GREAT REVIEW AND GREATLY TO THE POINT.
co0kii
co0kii - Month ago
Wait, THE dami lee?!
Omer Alam
Omer Alam - Month ago
iPad pro needs mac os
Gilby R
Gilby R - Month ago
Thank You! Great review.
JJ gang
JJ gang - Month ago
I want it but my mom won't even give me a tablet
Aluel Mayen
Aluel Mayen - Month ago
Ummm maybe you can give it away to the subscribers 👀
Anty855
Anty855 - Month ago
You, can it replace a macbook?
网相声
网相声 - Month ago
My main questions for this to replace laptop is, whether it can run ox system and HDMI possible for this.
Cuomo257
Cuomo257 - Month ago
How about ipad pro running macOS... ? Well done
Leti Bonnin
Leti Bonnin - Month ago
were you able to plug in a mouse?
Makai.
Makai. - Month ago
A laptop is better for work and literally everything but drawing and if you draw then buy the iPad 6th gen for $330 or last years iPad Pro. They work really well and unless your rich there’s no point of buying this iPad.
UTHSCSA School of Medicine - CIRCLE Curriculum
THANK YOU for giving an authentic review acknowledging that this is a supplement to a MacBook, not a replacement for one.
Tracy Krznar
Tracy Krznar - Month ago
ABSOLUTELY LOVE YOUR COMMENTARY! I FEEL THE SAME WAY ABOUT THE iPad Pro. I bought one but, really wish it was all you wish for.
clevername333
clevername333 - Month ago
spoiler alert, NO.... NOOOOO..... the ipad cannot replace your laptop if you do any actual work on your laptop. If you just use your laptop to watch netflix and youtube and you read emails.. then you can use an ipad..
Alex Thurner
Alex Thurner - Month ago
4366 emails... ouch
Paul Dotz
Paul Dotz - Month ago
you cant (and wont be able to use it as a laptop sub -- i think). endowing ipad pro with laptop-like features would cannibalize their macbook lineup.
TJ Wilkins
TJ Wilkins - Month ago
Awesome review - seriously informative and helped me make the right decision for me...
张朔
张朔 - Month ago
Am I the only one noticing the 4000+ unread email???
Jason
Jason - 2 months ago
Solution to the problem: Microsoft Surface. I have the iPad Pro 11 and several of the other iPads for the kiddies. It’s a great consumption device with some productivity, but it can’t replace a laptop like the Surface. Microsoft is expected to reveal the new Surface 7 this year. I’m hopeful.
Kurt Wallander
Kurt Wallander - 2 months ago
haters gonna hate. dont try to shape apple products to you. you have to shape to apple, then everything works out.
Gabriel Leung
Gabriel Leung - 2 months ago
Basically, I'll say that this iPad Pro and all the other iPads by Apple is just like a mad cow. They're really powerful, but they never get the job done.
ScreamingLlamas
ScreamingLlamas - 2 months ago
Apple should make this good enough to be a laptop replacement for people who need a laptop AND a desktop
Nitin Sawant
Nitin Sawant - 2 months ago
Can we use wireless mouse in iPad Pro 11..
Zrinko Maloseja
Zrinko Maloseja - 2 months ago
So incredible yet so stupid. Great review.
elvyra yap
elvyra yap - 2 months ago
Thank youuuu for the review!!! Im going to mbp 2018!!!
Rafael Storch
Rafael Storch - 2 months ago
Excellent ending
Martyn Gasson
Martyn Gasson - 2 months ago
I couldn’t give an arse if it replaces a laptop. It compliments my desktop nicely. iOS is perfectly fine for me. I save my files (Clip/Affinity) to “Files” or Dropbox, reopen on my Mac, and no probs. The Files system is only a problem if you make it a problem.
Daniel B.
Daniel B. - 2 months ago
Yep not replacement... cause if it is then imac wont sells anymore... will be a doom for the company income!!!!
Gavin Playz
Gavin Playz - 2 months ago
Plays Roblox at 15fps. Garbage
Morgan Walden
Morgan Walden - 2 months ago
The first unbiased Apple review I've ever seen.
Morgan Walden
Morgan Walden - 2 months ago
The first unbiased Apple review I've ever seen.
Tutankhamun KING
Tutankhamun KING - 2 months ago
It’s a tablet just go out and buy a laptop stop complaining
Ashlyvett Figueroa
Ashlyvett Figueroa - 2 months ago
Im a full time student and have my own brand so I need to do everything online, school work, shipping labels, print... I don’t know which one should I get!
Geek Jawaid
Geek Jawaid - 2 months ago
I don't want to adopt to my computer. I want my computer to adopt me. Golden words sir. 👍🤗
Arun Iyer
Arun Iyer - 2 months ago
Great video! Apple keeps saying it wants the iPad to become user's laptop replacement, but they always seem to conveniently forget those key aspects that bring people back to their laptops. Hope they learn. This tablet isn't cheap.
Davie Chen
Davie Chen - 2 months ago
You're absolutely correct! It has been really painful to see a buddy who's an Android fanatic to tell me not to buy this because of "reasons" and I've experienced the same with every Android user that's in my circles. Bought it and loving it. Have never been so happy using an iPad!
Praneeth Reddy
Praneeth Reddy - 2 months ago
Can we use this for Adobe CC, editing of videos and photos...?
David Rapant
David Rapant - Month ago
You can use the CC mobile app versions, not the full desktop apps. You can upload your photos using a lightning USB card reader then do edits in lightroom CC mobile and then sync to all your other devices like your desktop. At least that's my understanding.
ishootgopro
ishootgopro - 2 months ago
I have iPad Pro 12.9 2017. and I love it. it's really nice and fast and very productive using it, and mine has 4G lte. I always use Apple products, I prolly owned every product they have, but I'm no artist, I don't draw or designs stuffs, I do photography and I use it to edit some photos to lightroom cc. but honestly I enjoyed using my Samsung Chromebook Plus v2. it has 4glte as well so I can take it anywhere. And I love using keyboard and the mouse. but I love my iPad so much. But I am not thinking about upgrading to a new one.
M 310
M 310 - 2 months ago
I’m using it right now! Love it
Doodle Daily
Doodle Daily - 2 months ago
Can’t we all just wait till iOS 13 god danit
Ghost Davis
Ghost Davis - 2 months ago
So I have a question. I have the10.5 version is it worth the 165 to upgrade to the 11?
Sasori
Sasori - 2 months ago
I’m gunna take a guess no that doesn’t come in a bundle u gotta pay for the iPad Pro, keyboard and Apple Pencil 😭😭
Why Not
Why Not - 2 months ago
oh yeah yeah
NAND KISHORE
NAND KISHORE - 2 months ago
Honest Review.. 👏👏
Will T
Will T - 2 months ago
You greedy bastard why would you want external storage on something with a freaking terabyte inside it
M1ke_07
M1ke_07 - 2 months ago
GREAT!
TechTale-3T4
TechTale-3T4 - 2 months ago
Nice video
GameFailures
GameFailures - 2 months ago
So they just gonna keep copying features off the surface aren't they
johny wijaya
johny wijaya - 2 months ago
Can you install mac os on ipad pro 2018?
Next videos