New iPad Pro review: can it replace your laptop?

36 780
2 129
 
Comments
CARS 3
CARS 3 - 2 hours ago
iOS 13 wishlist
Split screen multi tasking on the iPhone
Having Window on the iPad
Locking individual apps
Low power mode toggle in control center
Clear all option in multitasking
Camera settings in the camera app
Make Siri smarter + faster
Moving apps in the home screen
Convine contacts + Imessage + facetime
Dark mode toggle in control center
Weather + calculator app on iPad
Allow NFC to thirp parties
Naming Bluetooth devices
Turning flash on and of when recording
Movingwallpapers
support for external harddrives on ipad
Support for flash drives on iPad
Support for Googles VP9 video codex
A version of finalcut Pro for iPad
Atul Kaushik
Atul Kaushik - 5 hours ago
what's the use of USB -C port, when you cannot use it for it's full potential, also, There is no file management system, etc.. etc..., for these shortcomings, this hardware is overkill...may be iOS 13 will be able to address , what Apple is intentially restricting at the moment....good hardware though....
sultanabran1
sultanabran1 - 6 hours ago
short answer before you even watch the video? no, it can't. because it's still an ipad, same as the previous model. it might look different but it still works the same.
Mk ._. queen22
Mk ._. queen22 - 7 hours ago
Nah it will never defeat the microsoft surface pro 🙂
Dan Galman
Dan Galman - 7 hours ago
Great content! This is definitely one of the most articulate reviews you guys have done! Thank you, The Verge!
Another gamer
Another gamer - 8 hours ago
Here I am typing my comment using the Samsung Galaxy tab s4 running full linux thanks to Dextop. Sorry apple but for me it is NO!
Alan Hughes
Alan Hughes - 11 hours ago
Awesome new speakers, but what good do they do when it is basically impossible to listen to music on iOS. As soon as you do something else, it automatically pauses the music. Awesome new song, want to open that mp3 in the music app? Sorry. Want to view a website? Let us compulsive redirect you to some mobile version or to the app store. Want to click on a text box? Let us arbitrarily scroll the page a little bit to confuse you and make you forget what you were going to type or so can't read the message you are replying to. Want to indent a paragraph? Sorry we removed that button. Want to do anything at all? Nope, we tell you what to do.
its sareX
its sareX - 17 hours ago
Simple answer: No.
xXIllGetYouXx
xXIllGetYouXx - 17 hours ago
Can it replace your laptop? Hell no.
M. Louis Photography
M. Louis Photography - 19 hours ago
THANK YOU FOR AN HONEST REVIEW! Someday over the rainbow Apple my wake up and let users REALLY leverage their gear. Again, thanks!
SAFUVAN ZAF
SAFUVAN ZAF - 19 hours ago
This review made me subscribe you 😀 ❤️
Krill Siluroid
Krill Siluroid - 20 hours ago
IPads were never meant to replace your MacBook or laptop Apple wants you to buy both. That's why there are always seems to be something holding back each iteration.
Bryan Ferrer
Bryan Ferrer - 23 hours ago
Not all usb-c dongle supports daisy chain ... Also , flashdrive and external hdd should work if there is a usb-c adapter with power source
Javeria Zulfqar
Javeria Zulfqar - Day ago
i dont think apple is trying to replace laptops with this ipad because they're trying to sell the entire ecosystem ((iphone, mac, ipad). i doubt it'll ever be able to replace a laptop entirely simply because apple wants to push macbook sales too.
Chino Designs NYC.com
I just purchased it, FYI guys remember Photoshop will have a version in 2019...can't wait!!
Alden Clarke
Alden Clarke - Day ago
You're trying to force your dated laptop ways onto the iPad Pro. Remember, we've been doing our Mac laptop thing since the 90s. This is a paradigm shift in how a computer fits into life. Evolve or go extinct!
robotechfans
robotechfans - Day ago
"it's more expensive than my laptop"
"I should love it....."
Tracee Lopez
Tracee Lopez - Day ago
It’s like you’re really really trying to find every bad thing. Lol
Overall, pretty decent review :p
Nathanael Hoffman
Nathanael Hoffman - Day ago
This guy low key annoys me lol
Cristiano Maestro
Cristiano Maestro - Day ago
Really. Could on my laptop Fortnite runs 1 FPS on my tablet 30
KWAN Francis
KWAN Francis - Day ago
Cannot tell how much I agree with the critic from the Verge about the new iPad Pro in 2018.
In 2018 when apple is showing off how powerful the new generation iPad Pro could be , apple at the same time shipping the by-product that how obvious the limitations of an iPad (or iOS) are . With all these amazingly powerful hardware in the new iPad Pro 2018, it's the first time we see the iOS is holding the hardware back from reaching its full potential while forcing consumers to pay the bills for the hardware. All of these marketing doesn't make sense at all when we're talking about an iPad more expensive than a capable laptop computer. Eventually, if you're paying a price as much as for a powerful laptop , you're demanding for getting serious things done efficiently , rather than appearing to be aesthetically cool casually.
Lastly, Well, having no real file/folder management capability in such mature iOS is really an immature behavior .
JON Gergeceff
JON Gergeceff - Day ago
Awesome review Mr Patel
Sonia
Sonia - 2 days ago
I LOOVE MY I PAD PRO 2018
Declan Sharp
Declan Sharp - 2 days ago
Lol better then apples laptops i7 cpus hahaha apple is straight garabage for what you pay for. People waste so much money its funny af
Dilan Stubbins
Dilan Stubbins - 2 days ago
For a college student who just uses this for notes, writing essays and basic use is this fine or should one get a MacBook Pro?
Phanitej Kanchu
Phanitej Kanchu - 2 days ago
$2200 for tablet! , no thank you.
Biggie Phil
Biggie Phil - 2 days ago
I wish Apple would install Mac OS on the iPad Pros.
hotmojo1
hotmojo1 - 2 days ago
I use the fan. What more do you need?
Thayer Vahan
Thayer Vahan - 2 days ago
I wish to use this iPad pro for school work and drawing. Would this be good for school work such as, Google classroom, Google docs, Google slides, etc?
Chris Lynch
Chris Lynch - 2 days ago
I’d wait for the pro 2020 before buying into this. Kudos costs..
Rafael Freitas
Rafael Freitas - 2 days ago
Mossberg certainly disagrees.
Muneeb Chaudhry
Muneeb Chaudhry - 2 days ago
I have the previous gen 12.9 inch iPad Pro, and I love it for what it is. However, I agree with everything you said in this review. If you know what you’re using it for and its limits - its a great machine. I’m a student, and for me its a paperless option for note taking with apps like Notability. And I have the added convenience of having a computer for pretty much anything I need. I’ve used a laptop for school work, and it’s nowhere near as engaging and versatile for note-taking in lectures. That being said - the iPad can’t be a computer for people that need a full computer and full-strength programs... Maybe someday, but it’s not there yet.
Eric Pellegrini
Eric Pellegrini - 2 days ago
A reviewer who thinks a GeekBench means an iPad is as fast as a laptop.
Not impressed.
Encanto India
Encanto India - 2 days ago
I am planning to buy a new portable device. I am confused between Surface Pro and this iPad pro. Budget is not an issue. Can all you people please help me decide. Till now I have been using Samsung Tab s3, iPad 3 and HP x360. HP is basically a laptop but its small and i can use it as a tab though heavy.
SlowRide
SlowRide - 2 days ago
I don't want iOS at that price. At that price just give it OSX. then and on;y then will it truly replace a laptop.
Cult Snarez
Cult Snarez - 3 days ago
Pro DJ gear works with Surface Pro 6. Just saying....
Grady White
Grady White - 3 days ago
You said Adobe wrote a Siri app that imports photos from the camera roll into Lightroom CC and then automatically deletes the imported photos from the camera roll. What is it called and ow do I get this app? I cannot find it anywhere.
R Snr
R Snr - 3 days ago
I’ve felt that dockand app switcher gesture has been difficult for quite some time.
Angelo V.
Angelo V. - 3 days ago
Nice review overall. Despite being critical of the iPad Pro, I’ll still, probably get one compared to the new MacBook Air. I mainly use my computer to type documents, to create slides using google drive and to surf the web for news and entertainment like a normal tablet. It can probably replace my laptop, especially when Apple fixes the Files feature. The one thing that I heard no one talk about at all is the iPad Pro’s future proofness.
The A12X chip is so powerful that it could probably handle future iOS updates for the next decade at most. Overtime, Apple will develop iOS to be more optimized with more iPad specific apps and third party apps that take advantage of the A12X. So if I do buy one as a laptop replacement, I should be fine based on what I need for now. However, if I do need more pro apps later down the road, the iPad will probably have those apps by the time I need them. Either way, I think it’s a good purchase for me.
Mainak Roy
Mainak Roy - 3 days ago
Damn
Taylor Albaugh
Taylor Albaugh - 3 days ago
Omg just bring MacOS to the iPad Pro dear lord so many people want this!
icephoenix88
icephoenix88 - 3 days ago
The next iteration will have the full OS. Next thing you know everyone will be rallying behind apple saying they are so innovative & changing the game - _-. Until they actually do something signicant I'll stary away.
Theodore Yamada-Dessert
*"Yet"* or *"...for now"* should be included after every one of his complaints. People forget that this thing can improve greatly fast. For this reason, I found this video slightly misleading, but for the most part I really liked this product review.
Gerhard Wunderler
Gerhard Wunderler - 3 days ago
Excellent review... you really nailed it! Was a big Apple fan years ago, but they lost me with this stupid compatibility issues like not playing Googles 4K vids, not allowing my 1st gen. MacPro to run an OS beyond Lion even though it is capable of etc...
TheLouis9720
TheLouis9720 - 3 days ago
I’ve got an 800€ bonus to spend in electronic shopping for the school but I’m actually in doubt between the new IPad Pro , the old MacBook Air or the base model of the MacBook Pro. What would you suggest to me ? Consider I have a mid 2012 MacBook Air 11” which fits a lot with my daily use (web browsing normal stuff ), the most important thing for me it’s MATLAB using, that is not still available for iPad . Thank you for your attention.
# TooMuchScotty
# TooMuchScotty - 3 days ago
The pen being magnetic should’ve been on the first iPad pro. Why don’t they make a iPad Pro that can do everything a laptop can do, the tech is already in there hands but they don’t because they will put those features in the next iPad pro
Kaito Hamada
Kaito Hamada - 3 days ago
Hooold up! iPad Mini from late 2018? What's that? And it shouldn't be the iPad he placed next to the iPad Pro 2018 the scene after he said that...
Sean Mather
Sean Mather - 3 days ago
Apple can do hardware so well.... they really need to focus on software and compatibility. The walled garden is no longer useful in keeping people in the apple ecosystem, it’s keeping the company from growing bigger. If it more seamlessly fit in with my other devices then it would be great, but right now my phone and iPad feel like they’re on their own little island. At this point I think 3 things need to happen. One is apple needs to go all in on it’s own chips, as clearly it can take full advantage of it. Secondly they need to bake in great x86 compatibly into OS X once they move to be all A series processors. Finally OS X needs to be on every pro machine and optimized for touch, while iOS should be the non pro system.
corsegerspwnd
corsegerspwnd - 3 days ago
No
Art Online
Art Online - 4 days ago
Thanks! Welcome to my channel!)
Arya1999
Arya1999 - 4 days ago
No proper keyboard, no replacement. If you're a touch typer who has to type all day, chicklet keys are a frigging nightmare. I've had to buy a gaming machine.
thinlycuta4paper no lastname
With osx yes
gene978
gene978 - 4 days ago
Not a fan of the Price of the pencil after using a normal Stylus from Dollar Tree waiting for the pencil to come in. The new Pencil cannot open HOME SCREEN of Shift side to side to the next Application. The Keyboard Bores me to pieces and $200 is outrageous for this No frills Keyboard with No Home Button or short cuts and Can’t full protect the device when closed. I was hoping Logitech or someone else had something out for this 12.9 Pro so I can bring back this horrible plain keyboard. The IPad is nice but miss the Touch sensitive home button for unlocking and it’s features. I still have my other IPAD PRO that is still like NEW condition and I am asking myself do I need this new one? The screen is beautiful and the depth is amazing but not $1200 worth.
Aegon Aram
Aegon Aram - 4 days ago
I would rather a yoga C930
jujuju222333444
jujuju222333444 - 4 days ago
conclusion: im not buying one. btw, GREAT REVIEW! : )
Jega Surian
Jega Surian - 4 days ago
i can use headphone adapter for 3.5mm jack cable? and we can export photos , videos & some files to memorycard using card reader?
Phil
Phil - 4 days ago
Love iOS as a mobile OS but this is like strapping a Ferrari engine on a horse.
Tijmen Brozius
Tijmen Brozius - 4 days ago
I only have the last version of the 12,9 version to draw in Photoshop - on my Mac. I use the Astropad app to do that, it does a great job of turning the iPad Pro into a graphics tablet. I did this to avoid having to buy an expensive Wacom Cintiq. So for that it works. I absolutely hate the roadblocks mentioned in the video, and use an android phone - I would never use iOS daily.
Orelion
Orelion - 4 days ago
"I don't want to adapt to my computer..." But that's the entire mantra of Apple in all long their products...
sdq sdq
sdq sdq - 4 days ago
Folding screen is the future
AbdulMajid H Jaffar Ali
Then what is the best unit that replaces your laptop?
Axel Fischer
Axel Fischer - 4 days ago
I can’t use Rosetta Stone on this beautiful but USELESS IPAD without a FLASHDRIVE!!!!
Axel Fischer
Axel Fischer - 4 days ago
Apple get it together!!!! I want a IPAD that REPLACES A COMPUTER!!!!!
Kalid Dueck
Kalid Dueck - 4 days ago
IT IS NOT A COMPUTER REPLACEMENT!!!! Why is everyone bringing this up in their reviews. The iPad was never meant to be a computer replacement.
Shivamrinder Kapoor
Shivamrinder Kapoor - 4 days ago
This review was soooooooooooooooo good
micah
micah - 4 days ago
love the honesty
Stephen  Andrews
Stephen Andrews - 4 days ago
If I live for another 50 years maybe I could save up for it !!!
Alex
Alex - 4 days ago
Have you tried Y Disk flash Drive? It has a free app. I'm using it with iPad 2017. I have a the 125GB Flash Drive.
Paul M
Paul M - 4 days ago
One note: the old Apple Pencil could be charged with lightning chargers using a tiny adapter that comes with the unit. (which was really easy to lose) I always ended up charging it the 'goofy' way by sticking it into the port so it looked like an old bluetooth antenna
Paul M
Paul M - 4 days ago
Haha "it should make my heart flutter." I wish I could get that excited about tech. Maybe if someone gives it to me for free :D
David Bowen
David Bowen - 4 days ago
Best tech review I've watched/read in a long time. Same frustrations with iOS!
Joe Monsanto
Joe Monsanto - 4 days ago
I have been an iPad fan for years, but with this version, they've lost me. I can't justify spending $1,500 for something that won't truly replace my laptop. I have business apps which I simply can't run on an iPad. As it is, I was using my iPad mostly to RDP to a windows desktop.
David Builes
David Builes - 4 days ago
Thanks for the review. Very informative and upfront :D
Mike O'Connor
Mike O'Connor - 4 days ago
The ipad is not supposed to replace a computer. its a tablet not a computer and will always be that.
RunningFromAdults
RunningFromAdults - 4 days ago
Too much greed. Not enough innovation.
karotofel
karotofel - 4 days ago
Give me that exact thing but with macOS and I will throw all the money at apple. Ppl say that for years now but apple is just laughing at this
Robin Offringa
Robin Offringa - 4 days ago
It could.....


If it had mouse support....
Chris Earl
Chris Earl - 4 days ago
One of my biggest leaves is try to type, and not having mouse support. Sometime selecting text, or correcting spelling errors is a massive pain even when using the pencil
DiamerladGamer
DiamerladGamer - 4 days ago
Am I the only one who believes that they stole the "program on Tablet" thing from Microsoft, The Attachtable keyboard from them too?
Marek Sławiński
Marek Sławiński - 5 days ago
I think next year iOS 13 will bring much needed software features to iPad. Right now software is two steps behind hardware.
Flash Thunder
Flash Thunder - 5 days ago
cheap HP printer did not work? what?! I would expect it to work in the first place!
NAD T
NAD T - 5 days ago
No and too expensive
iforce2d
iforce2d - 5 days ago
12:10 lol I thought I heard him say $2200 for a minute there :D


ohhhh.....
Herman Bodewes
Herman Bodewes - 5 days ago
Surface Pro with windows 10 is way more useful than the iPad pro. Better from every point of view.
adss70
adss70 - 5 days ago
Best review to date.
Smart Computers Tech
Smart Computers Tech - 5 days ago
screw this - nothing is better than my old Lenovo running Windows 7.
Theta
Theta - 5 days ago
I think (and hope) Apple have some big plans for iOS 13 in relation to iPad Pro. It needs a complete custom design on iPad with more exclusive features (and ability to use external storage media!) Sometimes it feels like Apple have absolutely no idea what they're doing.
Tong Yong
Tong Yong - 5 days ago
Good points!
Will Darling
Will Darling - 5 days ago
wow, no 4K youtube is a dealbreaker 7:20
BIG T.
BIG T. - 5 days ago
2 minutes in, got bored
Angry TechAddict
Angry TechAddict - 5 days ago
And the stupidest decision: Mac book Air (wich is definitely sitting in front of you when you want to use it and you are looking at it) gets Touch ID and the iPad Pro (wich may just be laying next to me on my desk) I have to pick up now and look at it from the right angle for every little thing I want to check... What genius came up with that??? Also screw the new iPad because of the removal of the headphone jack, huge camera bump and still the lack of mouse support...
Bodhisattwa Mondal
Bodhisattwa Mondal - 5 days ago
verge really knows how to make great reviews!!
Awang Shahirman
Awang Shahirman - 5 days ago
All i need is MacSpectacle Pro 😎😂
alkdfn
alkdfn - 5 days ago
That's a lot of unread emails! :O
txny
txny - 5 days ago
If the bezel was thinner, it’d be harder to hold comfortably
Bernd Kiltz
Bernd Kiltz - 5 days ago
Thanks for that very well made review. You got the limitation right on spot, keeping my macbook and old ipadair2 :)
Paul Rone-Clarke
Paul Rone-Clarke - 5 days ago
Virtually none of the software I use is on it. Can't install proper office apps, doesn't run the CRM I use and when I want to game, most are not available. No use to me at all.
Lucho Nesemaro
Lucho Nesemaro - 5 days ago
Awesome video, thanks man!
Faye Petersen
Faye Petersen - 5 days ago
who really wants to watch YouTube in 4k tho?
Ryles
Ryles - 5 days ago
This iPad is nice and all, but does it have ActiveX controls?
Wawasjohn
Wawasjohn - 5 days ago
Thank you for telling me that iPad Pro can’t do 4k YouTube. Main reason I was upgrading. can I assume that is also the case for Netflix? My air 2 is fine but has a medium size scratch and was liking everything else about the pro. Guess I’ll wait for next upgrade now.
Next videos